Renaming daily notes template with Templater

Hey everyone - I am fairly new to Obsidian, and would love to start a “journal” section. However, I am unlucky in being a somewhat of a coding newbie who has spent hours getting Templater to do what I want it to :slight_smile:

Things I have tried

My (relevant) setup:

• Obsidian 1.0.3
  • Templater 1.16.0

I have created a “Templates” folder and assigned my “Daily notes” template to a “Journal” folder, which works fine. I have also managed an automatically created YAML header with the help of these two tutorials: 1, 2

I have tried multiple variants of tp.file.rename tp.file.move, but it is likely best to describe below what I would want to achieve rather than to bias potential respondents with what may be the wrong way to go in the first place :slight_smile:

What I’m trying to do

I would like to achieve three things with Templater commands:

1. Rename the file with the current date in the format of “YYYY-MM-DD” (e.g., today would be 2022-11-27 - European style).
  2. Move the file into the “Journal” folder. Optionally: create a year folder (“2022”) within “Journal” and move the note here.
  3. Create a separate title within the note copying the file name.

Any help would be much appreciated!

I managed to solve the problem myself, but quickly wanted to update for anybody potentially searching for a similar solution:

---
Created: <% tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD") %>
Last modified: <% tp.file.last_modified_date("YYYY-MM-DD") %>
Aliases: 
Tags: 

---
#  <% tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD, dddd",0) %>
<% tp.file.rename(tp.date.now("YYYY-MM-DD",0)) %>

It is not quite as sophisticated as I wanted it, but it does the trick: instead of pulling the file title with tp.file.title, I opted for a modification to tp.date.now which works the same.
The last command then modifies the file name to the current date.

Next step - my desired optimal solution :slight_smile: