Reading Devices for Research Paper Workflows

Hi all,

I’ve been using Obsidian for my Zettelkasten for a few months now and am really enjoying it. Currently, my workflow for research papers involves saving->reading->annotating them in Zotero, and then syncing that to Obsidian as a Literature Note. It’s a decent workflow and helps me add a lot of knowledge to my PKM.

However, I generally tend to enjoy and comprehend reading a lot more when I am using an e-ink device like a Kindle instead of my PC. Kindles are great for books (and I sync my highlights and comments to Obsidian via Readwise), but they’re a bit insufficient for research paper PDFs.

So I find myself in search of a good e-ink device sufficiently large for research PDFs that has the following features:

• Fairly easy to get PDFs onto the device
  • Can highlight text and make annotations
  • Can export highlights and annotations in a format that Readwise or some other service that syncs to Obsidian can ingest
  • Bonus if it is also responsive and has split-window capabilities.

Anyone know if there are devices on the market that satisfy these requirements?

I don’t know if it meets all of your requirements, but you might consider looking at the Boox Note Air 2 Plus (or the newer Boox Tab Ultra).

I’ve been using the Note Air 2 Plus for a few months, and I’ve been very pleased with it.

Things I like:

• Large reading/writing surface, about 10".
  • Easy to download and sideload PDFs.
  • Can draw and write on PDFs.
  • Fully-functional Android tablet with Google Play Store, so can split windows, run apps, etc.
  • Runs Obsidian like a champ!

Sounds interesting! I didn’t know any such tablets could run Obsidian. What’s your workflow for getting notes from the PDF into Obsidian?

Also, can you highlight text or just draw/write on top of the document contents?