Query for total time spent studying across all the subjects on a particular day

What I want to do

Each subject is a field in my daily note that denotes how much time I spent studying it on a given day.

What I want to query for is the total time I spent studying across all my subjects on a particular day

TABLE Computer_Science, English, Business_Studies
FROM "Permanent/Diary"

Above is the query and it’s output.

It’s to be noted that on 6th I studied English for 25 min and on 9th I studied Business_Studies for 3hours

What I have tried

TABLE English + Business_Studies + Computer_Science 
FROM "Permanent/Diary"
Group by date
TABLE sum(English + Business_Studies + Computer_Science) 
FROM "Permanent/Diary"
Group by date
TABLE sum(row.English + Business_Studies + Computer_Science) 
FROM "Permanent/Diary"
Group by date

Non of them have worked so far. All it returns is a dash in the column next to the date.

But interestingly

TABLE English + Business_Studies
FROM "Permanent/Diary"

Returns

Even tho I studied Business_Studies on 9th the whole file doesn’t show up, same on 6th on which I studied English

NB! Please try to refrain from asking the same question two places at the same time. It’s confusing, and kind of messy.

Why the mysterious results

You got an error in the markup for Computer_science on 2023-01-05, with some “Mmin” stuff, which cause some issues.

In addition there is something funky going on when dataview adds a duration to nothing, which sometimes even causes files to disappear, as you’ve discovered. I suspect those missing lines/files in the result to actually be bugs/features of Dataview.

Regarding missing lines/files in the results:

• No value added to no value, returns the file and no value
  • No value added to a duration, hides the file completely
  • Duration added to a duration, returns the file and summed duration

How to fix