Professional writers: How do you organize your vaults?

I recently got laid off (for the fifth time in my career! which is how you can tell I am a professional writer) and I’m gearing up a freelance business while simultaneously looking for full time work.

And I’m rethinking how to organize my Obsidian setup, which has become an everything bucket: Working interview notes with lots of typos, PDF and Word document source materials, links to interview transcripts, early drafts in Markdown, and later drafts in Word. Also in the same vault: Meeting notes, a list of books to read, financial information, and other information unrelated to work.

Im curious how other professional writers—particularly journalists and content marketers—manage their vaults. One big vault for everything? Do you separate research materials from notes and drafts? Do you store source materials, such as PDFs, Word docs, and interview notes, separate from notes and drafts? Do you keep notes and drafts separate?

Please do go into as much detail on your Obsidian habits as you like—I’m looking for ideas.

PS. I’m directing this query to professional writers because we have special requirements. It’s like cooking—someone who cooks for friends and family might be a wizard in the kitchen, but that person has different needs from a restaurant cook who needs to feed hundreds of people every night.

9 Likes

@pdworkman wrote about managing their novels in Obsidian:

5 Likes

Hey there, content editor and copywriter here.

I have one big vault for everything. And I mostly use Obsidian as a tool to remember everything me and my colleagues have done in the past.

That means that I save all our articles in obsidian, clearly marked with tags and metadata, so I can find them. I have made everything searchable by:

• season (Summer, Autumn, Winter, Spring)
  • campaign type (Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Prime Day)
  • author
  • content type (guide, product list, interview, buying tips…)
  • market (country)