As of v. 1.1.15 (1.1.10) the following “bug” was fixed:
Deleting a file now closes its tab if there are other tabs in the tab group.
However, in my opinion this wasn’t a bug at all but rather a matter of workflow. I desperately miss the old functionality, where it was possible to move backwards in the tab history after deleting a note. Now before deleting a note I have to make sure to open it in a seperate tab. Plus, in the tab with the history, I have to make sure the note to be deleted is not open, since the tab would be closed even if I delete the note from the seperate tab.
I propose fixing this either by:
adding a switch that lets users decide on the behavior
only closing the tab if there is no tab-history.
(I am using the Pane Relief Plugin, but my request concerns the new obsidian core behavior.)
I would like to echo this sentiment. I too have gone mad recently realizing that deleting a file in a tab, now closes that tab after I had a previous history I wanted to navigate. I’ve been searching for a few days on settings, options, plugins, something that could allow this behavior to be altered with no luck. Would really love to see this “feature/bug/option” be selectable in the settings perhaps?
I agree, and I don’t even understand the logic of the supposed “bug fix.” It’s a lot faster and easier to close a blank tab than it is to open a new one, move it to your preferred position (which you can’t even do on mobile), and then go looking for the files that were in the now-lost history of the automatically closed one.