Organize by concepts or by sources/courses/classes?

Hi, so I’m a student and therefore I have courses to take. I was wondering how I should organize my notes because I study outside of school (self studying) and within school. Should I organize by my courses (lets say I have one course like computer science) or should I organize it by concepts (try to make each concept within the study a seperate page)

So let’s say I’m in a Computer Science class and I also study from a concept from an external website. From an external website, let’s say I study “Binary Trees” so I create a page for it. Now, let’s say in my Computer Science class, I come across this exact same concept. How would I organize these notes? Would the “Binary Trees” page fall under the source of the external website, or would it fall under Computer Science?

How would I also organize notes of a specific concept (let’s say Copywriting) and I form my knowledge of this concept from a bunch of different sources? How would I keep track of all those sources too?

Sorry if this is a lot or a lot of these are beginner-level questions, I’m fairly new to Obsidian so I’m not sure if there is some easy solution to this I’m missing. Thanks!

In this case, I would recommend looking into the PARA Method (it’s a Google search away).

It is easy to get into AND eventually to make what is most comfortable for you.

It really depends on what your goal is.

Hope that helped. Definitely hit me up if you have more questions.

EDIT:

To clarify, what you are thinking with “Now, let’s say in my Computer Science class, I come across this exact same concept.” is probably because you’re thinking in Zettelkasten.

If you were to go chase a more Zettelkasten like approach, then put everything in one folder.

It would force you to stop thinking in topics and categories. And, Start thinking in stand-alone ideas/concepts/patterns. That way you can link notes across areas and knowledge.

EDIT EDIT: