Obsidian's Resolution EXTREMELY High Compared to Monitor Resolution

Hi all,

Obsidian seems to have switched to a much higher resolution than everything else on my OS. My screen resolution is 2048x1152 but Obsidian looks like it’s running at 3840x2160, the maximum my screen is capable of! I can barely read the text!

I’m new to both Linux and Obsidian so I’m not sure if I’ve accidentally switched a setting somewhere that I wasn’t supposed to. But it just seemed curious that Obsidian and only Obsidian is running at that resolution. Has anyone else experienced this before?

I’m running Obsidian v0.12.19 (at least I think that’s what it says) via AppImage with the default themes and plugins on the following machine:

Operating System: Manjaro Linux
KDE Plasma Version: 5.23.3
KDE Frameworks Version: 5.88.0
Qt Version: 5.15.2
Kernel Version: 5.10.79-1-MANJARO (64-bit)
Graphics Platform: X11
Processors: 8 × 11th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-1185G7 @ 3.00GHz
Memory: 15.4 GiB of RAM
Graphics Processor: Mesa Intel® Xe Graphics

Any and all help would be very much appreciated!

Just checking, is there a chance you zoomed the text? I know there is a pinch-and-zoom gesture I keep accidentally hitting on my trackpad that shrinks the text. And that setting is separate from the View → Zoom settings, so I don’t know of any way to reset it by keyboard.

The other thing to check is if you did activate View → Zoom Out, because that also scales the text and the entire interface. Ctrl+= and Ctrl+-. To reset the view, it should be Ctrl-0.

Otherwise, the only similar threads I can remember were on MacOS. One user had checked “Open in Low Resolution” in the app settings. (Opposite problem. Everything got low res and blurry, not small. But that is a MacOS thing only I believe.)

And if it is none of that, could you please post a screenshot?

Thanks for the reply!

Yes, I came across that MacOS thread while searching but it didn’t seem relevant.