Obsidian won't sync via icloud

I’m fairly new to Obsidian and now I have some issue with iCloud sync.

After creating notes on MacBook , the notes won’t be synced to iphone/ipad. in the Obsidian Icloud folder, the notes not synced have a little cloud icon and will only sync if you selected it. as shown in the attached picture.
Screenshot 2023-04-20 at 08.59.12

What I’m trying to do

Trying to get notes sync between MacBook and IOS deveiecs.

Things I have tried

Restart the system, won’t work.
selected the note files in question, then it will sync, but i suppose i shouldn’t have to do this manually for all new notes.

thanks for all your help in advance.

1 Like

I couldn’t remember what the dotted-line cloud folder icon was, but it looks like it means that the files are waiting for upload to iCloud. This screenshot is from the Finder?

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6851689

In another app or in the Finder on your mac, are you able to make a file/folder, save it in iCloud Drive somewhere, have it upload, and then be available on your phone? Or is it just the iCloud Drive/Obsidian folder that’s not uploading?

This problem seems belong to iCloud service. My files are on the iCloud also met the same issue sometimes.

After trying to use iCloud sync without successful, I saved money and spent for Obsidian sync. It worked perfectly between many kind of devices.

1 Like

When iCloud gets “stuck” on a file or files, disabling it (just for Obsidian or altogether) and turning it back on can sometimes unstick it.

that dotted line icon stands for “waiting to upload”, actually it’s quite easy to force a sync by touching the document or alter anything about that file. but that’s still an extra manual move to do.
i believe this issue results from influx of too many files and the icloud can not handle that.

per my search it persists in icloud service for years and does not seem to go away anytime soon.

thanks for your help.