Obsidian UI freezes on rename (or move) in large vaults

Steps to reproduce

1. Have vault with 10k+ markdown files on SSD
  2. Open one of the notes, rename it, or move it to another folder through the Obsidian app

Expected result

No delays

Actual result

UI freezes for ~14 seconds

Environment

• Operating system: Windows 11
  • Obsidian version: 0.12.19

Additional information

I am a programmer so if I am guided how to troubleshoot the issue, I might provide more technical details

1 Like

I can’t reproduce this. Where is the vault stored? Is monitored by some third party backup sync solution?

The vault folder is stored on my laptop’s SSD. It’s being synced by Syncthing but if rename markdown file from explorer, it happens instantly, without this horrible delay as from Obsidian UI

Ok. If you have the same vault out of sync thing, is it slow?

Yes, no difference

can you record and share a performance profile?

Ctrl-shift-i->performance->record-> do the rename → wait → stop recording → export to file → zip it and upload it somewhere and send us a link.

What are your computer spec?

Here is my performance profile
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1HjKmunxj0Y_-KvaMhVwZv1R8dkRunXTh&authuser=mnaoumov%40gmail.com&usp=drive_fs

Computer spec

Processor Intel(R) Core™ i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz 3.19 GHz
Installed RAM 32,0 GB (31,9 GB usable)
System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

Are you using plugins? Are there many links in your vault? (is it highly interconnected?)

I use a few plugins but even if I disable all of them, the performance is still the same.

I don’t have many links between markdown notes themselves, but I have thousands of notes with attachments, mostly images and pdfs

That’s very good hardware and a very low note count to be experiencing performance problems.

I hope you get it sorted out, as we would all benefit from drawing more attention to improvements related to scaling, and high-note-count performance.

1 Like