Obsidian Gallery use help

Things I have tried

Hi everyone

I would like to understand the use of plugin gallery parameters with some practical examples, I am not able to use regular expressions, so I will appreciate very much your help

path and name params use Regex expressions.

https://github.com/Darakah/obsidian-gallery

My problem:

I have some images in a folder named “ASSETS”, inside few other folders.

ASSETS
  └─folder1
       │file1.png
       │image2.png
       │image_other.png
       │image3.jpg 
       └─folder2
             other.jpg
             whatever.jpg
             whatever2.jpg

1. How can I show only the contents of folder folder2?
  2. How can I show only the files which the name stars with “image” in folder1?
  3. Any suggestion for further use of the gallery params like filter by extension.

Thanks in advanced

I am having some trouble with this myself. I have some limited experience with regex, and they are a struggle for me, but I think I can answer your questions.

1. To show all the images in a folder, you should be able to use only the path parameter, with the name parameter blank. So, assuming ASSETS is in your vault folder, path=ASSETS/folder1/ should work.

2. Setting the path parameter to folder1, as we just did in answer 1, try ^image.* in the name field. ^ means beginning of line, and .* basically means almost anything: the . stands in for any character except newline, and * means zero or more repetitions of the previous character. So .* is basically Godzilla; it matches any string from null to infinitely long. This can be a disastrous thing to do, but in this limited circumstance it seems like the easiest way to go. Especially if you don’t know anything about regex.

NOTE: I have had some luck with a regex like .*WORD.*, where WORD is a keyword in the filename. So if you had a bunch of pictures of frogs with frog in the title, .*frog.* would return all of them.