Obsidian for Historians

I’ve been using Obsidian for more than 12 months. I’m using it for one specific purpose, the storing and linking of notes for a future book on the history of north east England in the 19th century. The challenge is managing a plethora of types of crucial linked information people, places, dates, issues (e.g. poverty) local government, industries (e.g. coal), political movements, you name it. My present method is, via the Make.md plug-in, to use a standard list around what, when, who and a link to an index, plus tags. But also adding links within the text. I’ve no idea if this is the best approach. Two worries. I’ve got hundreds of notes. With hundreds more to come. How I’ll be able to bring this lot together when I start writing. I’d love to hear from others who are involved in similar comped and ambitious projects and strategies for meaning things.

1 Like

I personally like to work with folders. I have never worked on a project like yours, but it seems like a good idea, at least to me, to sort them into overarching groups like politicts, health, economy, etc. and work with subfolders like

• politics
    – influential people
    – system
    – consequences
    – …

Alternatively, if you already know how you want to break down your book into chapters, you could use them as top-level folders.
I like linked notes, but bringing order into your vault by breaking it down into clear sections will probably help you when you start writing. I’d use linked notes in your case to easily “traverse” your vault, similar to how you might navigate wikipedia.

This comes from a personal preference, and I know many here like not using folders at all.

Hope that helps :slight_smile: