Obsidian for Dummies

I’ve read articles, looked at the Help file, looked at the forum, watched videos on YouTube, even subscribed to a video series … And I still don’t get it, i.e., understand the basic mechanics of Obsidian. The learning curve is too steep for me … Very frustrating! Is anybody / any group prepared to put together an online “Obsidian for Dummies” course … steplike, take nothing for granted, clearly written, clearly spoken, clearly illustrated? I’m willing to donate to such a cause.

1 Like

There are several introductory courses. Here’s one I was just checking out, though I haven’t signed up https://courses.santiyounger.com/p/obsidian

Basically, I think you want start thinking how you want to use Obsidian. I have several other digital notebooks and a digital journal I’ve been keeping for about ten years. But I want to focus on using Obsidian more, and I can’t wait until they come out with an iOS version.

Basically I’m starting to use Obsidian for as a content notes app for books and articles I’m reading and for reflections on projects I’m working on. I have similar notes in other note applications, but I’m going to move some of that content over to Obsidian.

What I find helpful in getting started with Obsidian is using the Daily Notes feature. Just set up and starting adding notes or reflections. Use the Daily Notes as starting space to learn Obsidian. Watch some of the YouTube videos. You’ll learn a lot from them. You might not even need to pay for course.

Most of all, figure out what you want to use Obsidian for.

1 Like

I tried at least half a dozen, this one by @nickmilo did it for me:

3 Likes

@Canuckistan Maybe this is a good project for you? While learning Obsidian, write everything down you learned in a way that you would understand it.

Now you probably ask, “how you can learn if there is no such material”?