Obsidian at Work

Does anyone use Obsidian at work? I can’t be the only one who uses Obsidian for everything, including work.

I’m a software engineer, and I’ve been using Obsidian to:

• learn new languages, concepts, and tools (Readwise, Dataview, Mind Map)
  • create, give, and publish presentations (via revealjs and a Hugo theme)
  • learn in public by putting my notes up online (Obsidian Publish)
  • take meeting notes (templates, Dataview plugin)
  • do task management (Calendar, Daily Note, Kanban plugins)
  • post to our blog, make changes to our public documentation (GitHub)

I’ve successfully convinced some colleagues at work to switch to Obsidian, and we’re using it in conjunction with Git to collaborate on various things. I wrote about my setup here, but I’m also interested in hearing from others. Are there any other use cases you’ve found Obsidian to be particularly good for in a professional context?

15 Likes

Great writeup, thanks for sharing!

Personally, I’m still too much playing, procrastinating, organising, talking to plugin devs, instead of actually using Obsidian for my productive work. (Damn code junky, me! But brainstorming new fantastic possibilities is just so much fun …)

The good thing, observing myself, is that I naturally start using Obsidian more and more, because it’s (still) very fast and keeps my cluttered notes and thoughts more and more together.

Real soon now … :rofl:

2 Likes

Yeah, the age old dilemma of tweaking vs. using! I definitely fall into that trap, most recently with the Dataview plugin. That plugin is SO useful and has SO many possibilities that it’s actually making me (at least initially) LESS productive as I think of ways I can completely change how I’m making my notes just so I can use it. :laughing:

1 Like

I’m looking forward to reading about your setup. At heart I’m a software engineer/hacker, but I’m also the president/co-founder of a midsize eCommerce cosmetics company. I use Obsidian for: