Note-naming, books and chapters

Hello there!

As a university teacher I like to have a good idea about all the literature I stumble upon. That is what all the chapters contain, keywords, index and some meta-comments about in what course the book or chapter can be used.

Therefore, I think I need to have 1 note for the book as-a-whole with links to all the chapters. But what do we name these chapters-notes? Do we name them (book title - chapter title) or do you have any good ideas?

For some reasons, I sometimes feel that the Zettelkasten-method doesn`t work that well if you really care about wanting to know everything about the source. It is just not possible to keep it atomic or focused on developing ideas as everything I read or stumble upon could theoretically be used for teaching. I therefore need to have some kind of structure note for the books so that I know in which book I can find something about a specific subject.

Please, I wan’t to hear your thoughts on this?

1 Like

My gut feeling says go for a “naming structure” like

• Author - Book Title (the book)
  • Author - Book Title - C1 (chapter 1)
  • Author - Book Title - C1 - P87 (chapter 1, page 87)
  • Author - Book Title - C1 - P87-89 (chapter 1, pages 87–89)
  • Author - Book Title - L42455 (reference counter for eBooks)

The only problem with this is

• Author’s names can be long (especially multiple authors)
  • Book titles can be enormously long

That’s why I haven’t yet decided on a final system. Since I use bibtex anyway, I might go for the bibtex key instead of the long “Author - Book Title” part. (Maybe something like @Adams2001a - C1 - P87, but that’s not thought out yet.)

Rethinking this, the chapter and page# “codes” could even be shorter, like

• Author - Book Title - C1 P87-89, or
  • @bibtexkey - C1 P87-89
4 Likes