Note composer (or similar) to embed current file to different note?

(Not sure what tags to use. Suggestions appreciated.)

So far, I’m quite satisfied with behavior of Note Composer in refactoring my notes as I type them, but now I’m looking for an additional functionality which works in reverse of how I normally use it.

My normal use case is when I’m studying something (a sort of ‘input’ mode). I could be watching a video and make a single long note titled by the video, with all the topics the topics covered by the video. Then I refactor it by selecting different topics in the long note and putting them in their own individual atomic note for future reference and linking. This leads to the long note comprising on nothing more than several embed of atomic notes. Fine and good.

But now, I’m trying to use obsidian as a sort of personal dev log for projects (a sort of ‘output’ mode). Here, each log entry is an individual/atomic note in a zettelkasten (Unique note creator) + journal/tweet format. Now I would like to add embed of each atomic entry in a single long note called ‘Project 1’, giving me a linking structure identical to my ‘input mode’, but simply handled in reverse.

Currently, the vanilla way to handle it is to type out my atomic note entry, create a new note titled ‘Project 1’, manually embed the entry. Not very elegant.

The workflow I’m trying to achieve is:

• Click hotkey
  • Type ‘Project 1’ and hit enter
    • If ‘Project 1’ file exists, then ‘Entry 1’ (currently active note) gets added as an embed at the end (or beginning as per choice?) of ‘Project 1’
    • If ‘Project 1’ file doesn’t exist, it is created and ‘Entry 1’ is embedded into it

Maybe I’m misunderstanding you, but can’t you then just open the “Project 1” for, and use it the same way as your normal case:

• write the new text
  • extract to new note, leaving an embed link behind