Newbie of 1-day: using inline <style> element and interleaving html/md

I am a total 1-day newbie to Obsidian :heart_hands: having discovered it only a few days ago.

I am trying to explore Obsidian’s capabilities for supporting HTML within obsidian-markdown content. I have written a couple of experiments and attempted to find answers within the forum and discord.

I would love guidance, help, answers, expertise around the following:

1. Using inline <style>css</style>; appears to either be disabled or unsupported.
  • Noting that I was able to create vault-global snippet css and make that work. But that is undesirable for individual documents. YAML Frontmatter patterns for CSS appear to not be available.
  1. Interleaving HTML and markdown within the HTML using tag markdown=1 appears to be available but exhibits unexpected/quirk code-generation output.
  • I was able to place markdown with an HTML element, but the parser terminated the element early and switched back to Markdown mode. I.e., no interleaved nesting capability. That behavior results in bad markdown/html output since it appears that input is not properly consumed by Obsidian markdown lexer/parser.

I would be very grateful to have that confirmed before I get lost in the weeds searching and experimenting for days for workarounds or solutions.

:heavy_heart_exclamation: Obsidian looks like it is purpose built pursuing everything I had hoped for and which I have felt was missing in markdown authoring for the last decade. I have seen nothing that is so close to patterns I use, other than plugin-enabled features within VsCode.