NEWBIE:Can Obsidian end its services in future?(can i rely on it 100%?)

Things I have tried

Hi,
I am a student from India and I will be pursuing engineering as a career. I am a productivity nerd and a big non-fiction reader. I was really looking for a great, future proof second brain software. I stumbled upon obsidian and fell in love with the simplicity and the overall experience of obsidian(shifted from notion->obsidian). I am just a little bit skeptical about the future of obsidian after coming to know that Obsidian in owned by a non-profit organization.
Please clear my doubt that should I rely on obsidian completely or not??
(Pers. I really wanna use obsidian forever and will try my best to make this anyway possible by donating or working as programmer after completing my undergrad school for free).

What Iā€™m trying to do

Every software comes to an end one day.
Every plugin youā€™ll use in Obsidian will die at a point.

However, Obsidan.md is not closed by nature : it records your datas under plain text files. Presentation may change, but youā€™ll be still able to open your .md files in years after Obsidan.md had died.

Donā€™t rely too much on plugins, find a workflow that feats you in Obsidian and donā€™t worry too much : .md files are plain text. Make regular back up of them, and youā€™ll be fine.

4 Likes

I had similar concerns before when i wanted to migrate from notion to obsidian. but local first using markdown is what sells to me the most. iā€™ve used joplin before, which employs markdown for local storage but stores it in the appā€™s database (not unlike notion btw).

good thing abt obsidian (and by extension, zettlr, logseq and perhaps even vscode) is that they have desktop app that donā€™t rely internet. you can always have an ā€˜oldā€™ version of this app should they die. notion, evernote and remnote do have desktop app but rely on calling back to their server (even server down would render it useles).