My Monthly Overview setup (digital Bullet Journal)

First off: I am fairly new to the obsidian family, I only stumbled upon it a few days ago but I must say I love this rabbit hole a lot! Reading entries in this forum makes me see all the sheer endless possibilities. Seeing MOCs is awe-inspiring and frightening at the same time. I’m looking forward to using this program daily and seeing my notes graph grow. Until now, I mostly planned my days offline on paper in my bullet journal (bujo) and I do love my monthly trackers. Which brings me to the topic of this post.

Recently, there were (at least) two posts on here that presented suggestions or solutions for bringing bujo elements into the digital format.

With the power house that is dataview, I created a little query that spits out a nice table with check marks whenever I did a habit.

Obsidian Habit tracker 1

To achieve this, I made a template for my daily note. It contains the following in the YAML

habits:
  run:
  walk:
  noCoffee:
  thesis:

and so on.

Apart from habits, I also track my mood in 5 steps and many other things. The full YAML looks like this:

habittracker: ✔️☀️🌙🟠🟣
habits: 
  NO:
  MEH:
  OK: ☀️
  GOOD:
  ALLZEN: 

period: 
  vitamins: ✔️
  no_coffee: ✔️

biking: 
  running: ✔️
  walking: ✔️
  yoga:
  gym:

writing:
  diary:
  reading: ✔️

thesis: 
  coding:
tags:
  - dailies
  - dailyplanner
date: 2021-10-10

Ok, so I am filling these out in each “daily” and tag them with one unifying tag, in this case it’s “dailyplanner”. I add a check mark emoji behind a habit or activity I fulfilled that day. I also set a sun for morning mood and a moon for evening mood. In my table I translate “NO” to “ALLZEN” over into numbers 1 through 5. This creates a more plot/graph like appearance.

In a “Monthly” Note, I then create the following:

table without id
date.day as "#",
habits.NO as "1",
habits.MEH as "2",
habits.OK as "3",
habits.GOOD as "4",
habits.ALLZEN as "5",
habits.period as "",