Multiple users with per file access permissions

Hey everyone,
I have been using Obsidian with my team for the past 3-4 months and after the initial learning curve it has been a great add-on to the way we work.

We have set up our own Vault and we share files through git (which is not ideal but still does the trick).
However, we will be expansing our team and that means that we will have documents that not everybody should see. This lead us to spend a good deal of time seeing how we can retain Obsidian.
We really tried to find a way to sync our Vault with multiple people and have per user permissions with a UX that would make sense. We tried:

• Set up Nextcloud (UX here won’t work because the permissions can look into file title, not file content)
  • Dropbox where we build a Python script that changes file permissions once a file is uploaded based on the contents (very painful & hellish edge cases)
  • Create an Obisidian plugin which adds a UI to select users to share with (essentially this is building the whole feature ourselves - unfortunately this is not happening)
  • Any other networked tool (Roam, all OSS alternatives)
  • git submodules (it doesn’t work, or it’s incredibly messy to set it up - probably requires one submodule per person)
  • svm (we’ve never worked with this version control and it seems a very complex solution although there are per file permissions here)

As we look at it we’ll be switching to Notion because of this (which is a great pain).
Any other thoughts or suggestions are greatly welcomed.

4 Likes

There is a related feature request. Obsidian Sync: Sharing a vault

Obsidian works on files. So you could use any third party file sharing service.
I assume that most Business oriented file sharing systems offer file or directory level access control.

However it seems that what you want goes way beyond this.