Make top third-party plugins core plugins

Use case or problem

Most users would want to leave safe mode ON and not want to rely on third-party plugins.

Proposed solution

This guy does Obsidian a great favour. Obsidian Plugins — My top plugins in the Obsidian app - YouTube Please incorporate the top plugins he uses (especially note refractor and tables) as part of core plugins. Or figure a way to analyze the most downloaded third-party plugins and incorporate them as core plugins.

Current workaround (optional)

I turn off safe mode every time I must use note refractor.

Related feature requests (optional)

3 Likes

You are suggesting to move the safety responsibility of 3rd party plug-ins to the Obsidian devs. That is not a good thing: the Obs devs should not be distracted by investigating 3rd party plug-ins for compatibility and safety.

2 Likes

I have no experience with this type of thing and am just thinking out loud so please forgive me if this idea is insulting to even consider. I know the plugin developer’s time is also valuable and they deserve control over the potential benefits of their creations.

I am just looking to see what people’s reaction to this hypothetical is. Basically, is there any chance it wouldn’t be an undue distraction for something like this to happen where a plugin creator might be willing to continue to create plugin as third party but hand over complete control over current version so that it can be core and therefore more useful and widespread, supporting Obsidian and the community.