It’s a feature I think about since a long time, a simple “lock” button that would make it so you cannot edit any data through the base view. Ideally there would be a (per vault?) option for bases to be locked by default.
The reason I would find it useful is it would allow me to just scroll and click through the base without fearing I accidentally change something and not realize. My use case may be very specific as I use obsidian for making my family tree and bases for displaying all the people in one place, however, I think the ability to lock bases would benefit anyone who just wants to use them for viewing data rather than adding new notes.
Another reason is very personal, I once (don’t ask me how) managed to accidentally select everything in a base showing all properties of like over a thousand files (all the people in my family tree) and then delete it. And it turns out (or at least at the time) ctrl+z does not work. All I could do is watch all the properties slowly disappear. (I had backups thankfully).