Live compiling of notes to PDF via groff

Warning: This is probably only suitable for people who have some experience with the command line. It’s not a full guide, just an inspiration! I still try to write it relatively detailed. I’m not a programmer at all though, and most of it is copy-pasted together. I would be happy if someone with more knowledge looks at this and could improve it! I did this on macOS, but it should work similarly on Linux. I didn’t test it on Windows (WSL). Also: Back up your files before using those scripts! As I said, I’m not a programmer. So, something could go wrong.

Live compilation with groff

Here I would like to write up how I use live compilation from Markdown to PDF via groff. First of all, groff is a typesetting tool from the GNU universe that you probably already have installed, if you use macOS or Linux. You can think of it as similar to LaTeX (or TeX). The advantage is that it compiles faster (in my test around 10 times faster).

I set up a live compilation that uses the fact that Obsidian saves the notes written quite often. We can then monitor a file change with entr that triggers a compilation to PDF via pandoc. (You could also use this with any other text editor, if you want.)

What works

• footnotes
  • automatic citations and bibliography [@style]
  • Markdown tables
  • LaTeX math (wrapped in $$)
  • write raw ms (using groff to write and to make equations, tables, graphs) (For the basics I recommend this video.)
  • Obsidian links (with a ruby preprocessor)
  • YAML front matter for title, date, author etc.
  • customization via template

What you need

• groff
  • pandoc
  • entr
  • ruby (optional, for Obsidian links in the PDF taking you back to the respective note in Obsidian)
  • hotkey program like skhd, Alfred, …
  • PDF viewer like with auto refresh on file change like Skim, LivePDFviewer (macOS) or Zathura (Linux)