Learning a language with Obsidian (and the LYT framework), my approach and experience

I tried looking around the forum for posts on language learning and Obsidian and didn’t see many, so I thought I would make one on my thoughts and how I’m going about it so far. I hope someone finds this helpful! My current beginner-level workflow (if I can call it that) is described at the end of the post if you’d like to skip to it.

(Just off that bat, so one is disappointed or misled, I don’t use flashcards/a formal SRS system so I don’t have any advice on that… sorry!)

A brief background on my use case. This is the second language I’m embarking on learning. The first was French, which I learned to B1/B2 level through self-study and I’m currently certified advanced for at an advanced level (DALF C1). I guess that qualifies me as a more experienced learner, since I have a better idea of what works for me, personally. For the language I’m studying now (Portuguese) I’m a bit more organized and intentional with both my materials and my set-up and have a better idea of how to prepare for certification tests. I genuinely believe Obsidian suits learning a language through a more “natural approach” quite well.

My main method for learning at the moment is a course called Assimil. The link summarizes the method nicely, but basically you study short dialogues which increase a bit in difficulty/complexity each time. So the idea is much like a child learns a language, you pick up vocabulary and grammar “naturally” (with the help of some grammatical notes) over time, getting a form of spaced repetition as the most common/useful words and phrases show up repeatedly. I’m sure there are other approaches I’m not familiar with which are similar in that they focus on understanding sentences more than traditional memorization/grammar drills and poring over tables of verb conjugations.