Latex Document Creation Features in Obsidian

I have tried reading forums and watching YouTube videos.

What I’m trying to do

So, I am completely new to digital note taking and while I have been creating digital documents in Word and it’s like, I am sick of fighting with traditional word processors and having to end up settling with a less than perfect document. I have begun researching academic research and documentation processes. And I really like what I am seeing with Latex for document creation, but I prefer the Obsidian UI and its advanced note taking options.

My question is this. Can I recreate the Latex document “template” process in Obsidian? I know Obsidian has a feature called templates, but it feels more like an advanced alias feature, whereby small amounts of text can be recalled quickly with a simple key combination. I would like to create a template for an entire document and define all the text formatting, i.e. font, font size, bold, spacing, etc. Can I copy a preferred template from Latex or Overleaf and use it in Obsidian or somehow create the equivalent?

Thank you.

2 Likes

Have you looked at Pandoc Plugin? It allows you to export a note to LaTeX as a tex file, or as a PDF but using LaTeX instead of the built-in PDF export process. If you’re familiar with Pandoc, it should be perfect for you.

I’m still a beginner at using Pandoc, and I’m struggling to figure out how to get the plugin to use my own LaTeX templates. With the default settings, my tex files come out using a ton of packages, environments, and commands that I’m not familiar with, which makes debugging/editing difficult.

I have seen Pandoc and I think it will work perfectly to export my notes to one of many formats. My concern is getting the notes formatted correctly before I export them. For instance font types, size, spacing etc. And then page/body formatting as in columns, page breaks, etc. I need to get the page to look correctly before I export it.