Laboratory Notebook & Integrated Task Management System for Bench Scientists

Introduction

Hello all. I am doing a PhD in Genetics & Molecular Biology and thought I’d share my obsidian setup. I use obsidian as an Electronic Laboratory Notebook, a task manager, and a note-taking system. I’ll only touch on the first two in this post, as the note-taking system is pretty standard zettelkasten stuff for academics.

It’s not a very complicated system, but it works well for my purposes and is simple enough to keep up well. Sorry for the redactions - I’m paranoid about scooping :sweat_smile:. Also, I got a lot of inspiration from this post. So definitely check that one out!

One more thing: this is still a work in progress for me, so I welcome any suggestions. I’ll also be updating this post as I change things.

Dashboard

Everything starts with my “Dashboard” (which I assign as my homepage). It doesn’t fit on one page so the second and third images are just scrolling down on the Dashboard.

The Dashboard is what I look at first thing in the morning, and whenever I’m not sure what to do next. At the top is just a link to my slipbox, where I store my zettelkasten notes.

Below that is an index of my ongoing, recently completed, and “someday” experiments. This comes from a dataview query:

>[!Experiments]+
> - # In-Progress
> 	  ```dataview
> 	  LIST FROM "lab_notebook" AND #experiment WHERE contains(status, "in-progress")
> 	  ```
> - # Done (Last 10)
>   ```dataview
>   LIST FROM "lab_notebook" AND #experiment 
>   WHERE contains(status, "done") OR contains(status, "failed")
>   LIMIT 10
> - # Someday
> 	  ```dataview
> 	  LIST FROM "lab_notebook" AND #experiment WHERE contains(status, "someday")
> 	  ```