I've built a search engine that connects to your obsidian vault

Hey! :slight_smile:

The big problem I have with every knowledge base is that in order to retrieve knowledge you need to know that it is in there.

As a software developer my main tool for retrieving knowledge is Google. Although I document most of the things I learn in my Obsidian vault I regularly find myself googling the same things over and over simple because I can’t remember I’ve already solved them (and it was not worth remembering them via Spaced Repetition).

That’s why I created a search engine that connects to your obsidian vault via a plugin.

This completely changed my way of working. Whenever I find a solution for a problem I put it into my vault and the next time I search for it i immediately get the solution for it.

Here’s a short demo how it works at the moment:

SearchR Demo (Youtube)

Please let me know if you are interested in it (it will cost a few $s/month) so that I know if it’s worth publishing. This is just the first version - we can build this to whatever you want :slight_smile:

4 Likes

This looks cool, but I would like to see more of the implementation before I allow a search engine to access to my vault.

1 Like

This looks interesting, I’ve thought of building a tool like this before, but didn’t make my mind clear yet.

I noticed your demo was working in a website, are you planning to make this a SaaS service? I think many people use obsidian because they don’t want to put the data in the cloud, this might be a point to consider.

1 Like

@jwl The search is done with minisearch. It’s quite similar to the Omnisearch plugin. Through express an secured API (CORS & auth key) is exposed that is used for the communication with the application :slight_smile:

@reorx It’s a SaaS tool but all the data stays on your local machine - the application communicates with your vault over an obsidian plugin. :wink: