Is there anyone who has developed a plugin that directly calls the Mac’s built-in “Preview” software to read PDF files in ob?

I think the Mac’s built-in “Preview” is very useful. It can extract text from some PDF files, saving the work of OCR. I was wondering if it’s possible to design a plugin based on this feature of Mac, which can call this “Preview” on ob, similar to booknote, replacing the reader with the Mac’s built-in one. This way, I don’t have to use OCR when reading some books. I can just draw on it and copy and paste, which is very convenient.

For this, I asked about the feasibility of developing this plugin with ChatGPT. I am a beginner and I don’t understand it. Can a professional take a look?

I ask ChatGPT:

Assuming you are now an Obsidian expert, I need to write an Obsidian plugin that can call the Mac’s built-in “Preview” software to implement reading function in Obsidian. Please help me see if this is feasible.

ChatGPT’s reply is as follows:

In theory, it is feasible to implement this plugin. Obsidian is developed based on Electron, and the Preview application is a locally running application on macOS. Therefore, shell commands can be invoked by calling macOS to open the Preview application and load the document.

Specifically, the child_process module in Node.js can be used to call shell commands to start the Preview application and load the document into the preview. The code example is as follows:

const { exec } = require('child_process')

function openPreview(path) {
  const command = `open -a Preview.app '${path}'`
  exec(command, (err) => {
    if (err) {
      console.error(err.message)
    }
  })
}