Is there a way to simply indent text without having it to turn into a code block and without it becoming ugly red? (non-programmer writer here)

The title says it all. I tried tab and 4 spaces. Everything makes the text a code block. I simply want it to be indented, that’s all. Is that not possible, or am I missing something obvious here? (Sorry if I am. Newbie here.)

6 Likes

This may not be the best solution because it is kind of ugly, but, use this in front of your line. A native markdown solution would be best, but I don’t know of one yet.

$\qquad$ 

$\qquad$The indented line would look like this.

If you come across a better solution, you can always search and replace it.

<ul>
You might can also just use the ul tag. This indents things. 
</ul>

Cheers,

Clif

5 Likes

Thank you @clifton . I like the “/ul” solution. But when I tried to use it all subsequent lines (after the ul mode is closed) in the edit mode look indented, even though they are fine in preview mode. Also if I hit enter after closing out the ul mode the lines appear in red color as if they are a block, even though they appear fine in preview mode. See this as example: http://prntscr.com/1cf0ui8 (left side is edit mode, right side is preview mode). Any idea how to make it less confusing in edit mode since I don’t keep my preview mode on all the time?

Hi @fierce_ninja. I do not have that issue. See here: https://prntscr.com/1cg04y3

I am actually very new to this. I only registered on this forum today and have been using Obsidian for maybe two days. So, I will not be much help beyond this indention issue. I am certainly hoping to learn more, though. I’m running v0.12.10 on Linux Mint. I don’t know if there are any differences in OS version.

Clifton

You could change the text color via css if you wanted. It’s really easy to do.