Is the properties of a Note similar to metadata?

Hi all,

I’m new to the obsidian world. Also trying to figure out the best use of dataview. For what I take, dataview uses the metadata of a note to organize and filter them.

Does anyone know if the properties of a note are similar to the metadata? I thought it may be, but when trying to use the properties to filter notes, dataview doesn’t filter them.

So, my next question is, how are you managing your metadata? I mean, how do keep track of all your keys and values?

Thanks in advance!

JJ

Properties in Obsidian is (are) what metadata is elsewhere. Properties is like a local (Obsidian-chosen) naming convention, metadata is general but they are essentially the same.

Usually people keep their metadata in YAML/frontmatter at the top of the file, like so:

---
somekey: somevalue1
somekey2:
  - somevalue2
  - somevalue3
---

Many threads deal with populating notes with metadata with the Templater plugin and many with querying them with DataView.

2 Likes

Depending on how detail oriented you want to be I’d say there are three categories of metadata from my perspective:

• Properties – As found in the frontmatter/YAML of a note, i.e. property: value
  • Dataview’s inline fields – Fields defined within the body text of a note, i.e. [inlineField:: value]
  • Dataview’s file – Within Dataview queries you’ve got access to this compound object which holds metadata on the file itself, such as creation and modification dates, but also the complete lists of lists and tasks from your note

The latter two are only available in Dataview aware contexts, but I do think of them as metadata available to me. One could also argue that some of the other plugins could offer means of metadata specially available for it.