Inline Frontmatter

I am trying to do up some notes for school and I want to create a table using Dataview to group different properties so I can refer easily when I go back to study. However, for the period of time using Dataview, I learnt YAML can be only created at the very top of the page in Obsidian.

Currently, I have different headings within the exact same page, and I was wondering if:

1. I am able to create individual inline frontmatter metadata for the different headings
  2. Dataview will be able to detect these metadata that are inline, or does it only detect metadata that appear at the very top of the page?

Thank you for the help. I am still new to Frontmatter and Dataview, so any form of assistance is greatly appreciated! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

Dataview can read data (1) either from the YAML front matter, which as far as I know has to be on the top (between ---'s), OR from inline fields, which have the key:: value format, and can be anywhere in the text.
So, you can use inline fields wherever you want – just make sure you format it right (so, while you would put subject: history in the YAML, you need to put subject:: history if it’s inline).

Besides what @atiz said, I just add this:

1. Full-line inline fields - Fields alone in full line. This is the best option if you want a more complex as a text. For example:

This is the book title

summary:: This is my summary or abstract. With an full inline field I can write a small or long paragraph. The field content stops when I break/change the line.

Now the content of my note…