Inherit YAML from Project Overview when creating new Project Notes

Hi – I’ve been using Obsidian for several months now to manage notes related to different projects I have.

The forum here has been invaluable to me, and I thought I’d make this post on what I’m currently troubleshooting. Maybe some of you could help.

What I’m trying to do

When I start a new project, I use QuickAdd to create a new “Project Overview” note from my “Project Overview” template. I use QuickAdd because I like being able to use {{VALUE: Project Name}} and {{VALUE: Collaborator}} – then those values are inserted into the Title, YAML, and some dataview tables I have setup to track progress and show related notes. I also have QuickAdd dynamically create a new project folder – “Create in Folder” Spaces>Projects>{{DATE: YYYY-MM}} {{VALUE: Collaborator}} - {{VALUE: Project Name}}

Then, I can keep all of my meeting notes and related project files within that project subfolder. I’ve been using QuickAdd to create meeting notes from template utilizing the same {{VALUE: }} prompts. So I end up entering the Project Name, Collaborator, etc. again; and if I misspell something…

So…

What I’d like to do is to be able to create a new meeting note that pulls the Project YAML property from the Project Overview note and populates that value in a new note and applies my Meeting Note template. Then move that note into the correct folder automatically.

My meeting note template looks like this:

Fairly straightforward.

Things I have tried

I’ve been trying to learn some javascript and attempted to modify some code from Profile - holroy - Obsidian Forum I found here:

Since I know very little about js, I got very stuck.

I’ve also looked into the Buttons community plugin. I found this article on Medium: My Obsidian Setup — Project Management | by Nuno Campos | Technology Hits | Medium

Would love to hear some takes on this.

I was working more on the modified code and thought I’d share it.

<%*