In Medicine we need the simple, yet enough. I need your help

Hi everyone, I’m new to obsidian, but a veteran Anki user.

I’m a medical student and I want to use Obsidian for note taking purposes (no daily thoughts and calendar uses, no spaced repetition, no coding… just medical/science notes for organization purposes: I’ll use the notes for self reference to create anki flashcards on some of the specific topics)

I’m looking for a minimalist set up (I’d like keeping amount of plug-ins to a minimum), yet I don’t want to miss on important functionalities that some of them may provide (like mind map).

I think that clarity is very important: simplicity yet having enough functions to work with are essential.

I also am trying to find a theme that is simple yet powerful.

For example, I really miss having the underline function that I use on all other word processing programs (even anki), but also highlighting, and colored text.

What would be your recommendations?

my current list of plugins is

• advanced tables

• mind map

• note refactor.

obs: first time posting here, sorry if my post seems straight out of reddit (it is).

1 Like

Howdy, I suggest you to use templater.
For example I use it for → microbiology, mkrobes, viruses, fungi all have different templates. I also combined it with dataview.

---
Topic: <% tp.file.title %>
Allies: [Drugs, Ilac]
Tags: [Medicine/Mikrobiyoloji]
Creation Date: <% tp.file.creation_date() %>
Modification Date: Saturday, February 12th 2022, 5:04:25 pm
CSSCLASS:
Type: TemelBilim, KlinikBilim
---

# Genel Bilgiler
Domain::
Aile::
Class::
Genus:: <% tp.file.title %>
Metabolizma::
CellWall::
Kapsul::
Boyama::
Besiyeri::
Kaynak::
InkübasyonPeriyodu::
ProdromPeriyodu::
Bulasi::
VirulanceFaktorleri::
Belirgin Özelligi::
Tedavi::

# Klinik

# Tedavi

# Extra Notlar
---
Topic: <% tp.file.title %>
Allies: [Drugs, Ilac]
Tags: [Medicine/Mikrobiyoloji]
Creation Date: <% tp.file.creation_date() %>