I'm just getting started and it seems like questions are more valuable than answers

You find yourself staring at a blank obsidian vault.
You have been eaten by a grue.

I think I have a way to get started with obsidian, but feedback would likely save me some time and effort.

Tags/links/folders/MOCs are search optimizations

premature optimization is the root of all evil

• Donald Knuth

So I won’t use any search optimization until searching is a clear, measurable performance problem.

So I will:

1. Begin with a note for every question/problem I may want to (even superficially) research.
  2. As I research, create small atomic notes with no tags/links/folders/etc.
  3. When those notes are hard to consume (making it slower to continue my research), add tags/links
  4. When I’m sick of typing the same metadata blocks over and over, I’ll use templates

I suspect this is where I’ll start to see some surprising patterns emerge.

Is this a strategy anyone else is using? I’d love to hear about it.

Nate

1 Like

I agree that premature optimization is the root of all evil, but I also think it is debatable wether or not links are optimizations.

One of the most important values that were only made tangible to me only after several months of linking is the serendipity and the feeling of connecting the dots (a.k.a insight).

In this respect, linking, or more precisely, the act of writing densely connected atomic notes, isn’t a form of optimization, but an empirically proven process that helps facilitate insights.

Your approach seems reasonable though.

3 Likes

Ironically, I am also in the very infant stages of PKM. Getting started for me, was also the hardest part.

What I have found:

• get started
  • write notes
  • make connections (tags and backlinks)
  • things will happen

A brief description of what has happened for me: