Iframe

Hey guys,

Can I get the basic code for iframe for embedding youtube and podcasts… I am new to iframe and everything.

Also, what can you embed in iframe?

The media I use is:

• Twitter
  • Youtube
  • Podcasts (what do you need to embed?)

Regards,

Tansy

Try the link below to learn about the iframe tag. Pressing “Try It Yourself” and tinkering with the code might give you a better understanding. You can use an iframe to embed any website.

You can embed a Twitter post or a YouTube video with code provided on their respective sites.

Twitter: Press the three dots on the top right of a post and press “embed.” Next, copy and paste the code and into your note.

YouTube: Press “share” and then “embed” to get the iframe code. Then, paste the code in your note.

Podcast: Depends where you get your podcasts.

Bryan Jenks has a very in-depth video where he explains how he puts videos and podcasts in his notes. The time-stamps are helpful.

2 Likes

I believe there is also a plugin to help with this called Convert URL to preview (iframe). GitHub - FHachez/obsidian-convert-url-to-iframe: Plugin for Obsidian.md to convert a selected URL to an iframe.

2 Likes

Does anyone know why the app shows a version 0.2.0 available but it doesn’t update? (It is the same on github)
The change log for 0.2.0 says the issue with sliding panes got fixed in it.

Is there a code to get a full size 100% height and width for iframe for now?
I found this css snippet but doesn’t work :frowning:

iframe {
        display: block;
        background: #000;
        border: none;
        height: 100vh;
        width: 100vw;
    }

Does using height: 100%; and width: 100% work?

2 Likes

How exactly I should use it? I am not very familiar with html and css

Just replace 100vh and 100vw with 100%.

1 Like

Just tried it, it doesn’t work

1 Like

I was afraid of that. Here’s a discord post that includes a snippet that lets you resize an iframe.

1 Like