iA Writer for writing Notes

Things I have tried

What I’m trying to do

I’ve been experimenting with Obsidian and I’m starting to see the benefits of having linked notes. I do have to say that the editing capabilities of Obsidian leave a lot to be desired. I’ve been using iA Writer for a couple of years now as my primary note taking app. Considering that the Obsidian files are just markdown, I’ve been using iA Writer to write my notes and then going to Obsidian to link and analyze the relationship between the notes. Am I losing anything by creating my notes this way? Does Obsidian do anything special as you type up the notes in the app?

This is fine. Obsidian doesn’t do anything special. That’s the great thing about markdown files - they’re just text files that any app can edit.

2 Likes

Not having use iA Writer before but intrigued at its capabilities, can you let me know if it is a WYSIWYG editor? Can it create tables?

iA Writer is not a WYSIWYG editor. It is a Markdown based text editor which does highlight Markdown syntax.

macosxguru

The 2 things I miss from iA Writer are

1. Keyboard shortcuts, Cmd-1 to create heading 1, etc. The same shortcuts work on iPad and Mac. As far as I can tell Obsidian doesn’t have these types of formatting shortcuts.
  2. Live preview, iA Writer can split the screen and show the text editor on the left and the rendered markdown on the right. I spend most of the day in this mode. In a sense this is like a WYSIWIG editor
1 Like

Obsidian can do both:

1. Go to settings → hotkeys and you can configure the options to your likings. If there are not enough options you can install the 3rd party plug-in Hotkeys++
  2. Open a note and then cmd click the edit/preview button. A second pane will open which is linked and will scroll and show a preview.