How to re-enable paste as text?

I’m following up on this thread: Paste as text not returning as plain text

I’m new to Obsidian and I’ve installed a few plugins. Before installing the plugins, I was able to copy-paste as text (without formatting) just fine using CMD+Shift+v. I installed like ~10 plugins at the same time and suddenly I’m unable to paste as text.

I’m using Obsidian Version 1.1.8 (Installer 0.15.9) on Mac OS 12.2 (21D49).

Here is my list of plugins:

• dataview
  • obsidian-admonition
  • obsidian-annotator
  • obsidian-excalidraw-plugin
  • obsidian-extract-pdf-highlights
  • obsidian-languagetool-plugin
  • obsidian-mind-map
  • obsidian-text-format
  • oz-image-plugin
  • sliding-panes-obsidian
  • table-editor-obsidian

Things I have tried

1. I disabled all plugins using settings → Community plugins → disable plugins. → restart Obsidian/restart Mac
  2. Deleting the .obsidian folder → restart Obsidian/restart Mac

All without success.

Pasting as text works fine in other applications like text edit or google docs.

I’m wondering:

• Does this sound like an Obsidian issue or a Mac issue to you?
  • Can I reset the Obsidian settings? I mean apart from deleting the .obsidian folder?
  • How can I regain my paste-as-text ability?

Thanks for any pointers!

What version of Obsidian, and what Installer version too?

You installed a bunch of plugins and it changed. It sounds likely to be a plugins problem.

Sliding Panes is obsolete. The feature is now built into Obsidian as “Stacked Tabs”, and you should uninstall Sliding Panes.

“obsidian-text-format” sounds like it could be related to this problem from the title alone. But I don’t know I’ve never tried it. Try disabling that one. And then try disabling other ones until you find which is causing the issue. (Restart Obsidian when disabling a plugin to make sure it’s fully unloaded.)

2 Likes

Thanks so much for the advice, @rigmarole!