How to link multiple blocks from one note

Hello, I’m new to obsidian, I’m trying to block link multiple blocks from the same note, is this possible, followed with an alias name?

Please help! Thanks

1 Like

Can you give a concrete example of what you’re trying to do?

Block reference search can be initialized with the [[^^ syntax. Use that to find any number of block references from any number of notes you’d like and insert them that way.

1 Like

So I did what you just mentioned, but that only gives me one block to reference.

Yeah absolutely, my example is I have two notes open:

The first note has paragraphs from some books I’m reading
The second note I’m doing a study on.

I would like to reference various blocks from note one into note two, but only using one link for the multiple blocks I’m referencing.

What do you mean by “only one link?”

You’ll need a different link for each block, as otherwise there’d be no way to tell each link which block it’s pointing to.

They’ll look like the following in edit mode:

[[note1#^someblockid]]
[[note1#^someotherblockid]]
[[note1#^anotherblockid]]

If you want to make each link only show the same visible text in preview, you can add an alias:

[[note1#^someblockid|Some text to show in preview mode]]
[[note1#^someotherblockid|Some text to show in preview mode]]
4 Likes

Oh ok. I understand. Well then maybe linking the block is not what I need if I want multiple paragraphs or sentences that are not on the same block to be linked.

Is there another way to link multiple sentences or paragraphs to one link. Like a Shift and click type of selection.

I’m not sure how to explain it as I’m very new to this.

For instance, If I’m in my notes and I want to reference several Bible verses that are on separate lines but I want them all under the same link. How should I go about doing that

1 Like