How to delete a vault

Hi. Complete noob, trying to get my bearings. I’ve created my first vault (by starting with an existing folder of files) as a test and now I’m trying to delete that vault. I don’t see any menu options for that, and when I try simply deleting the relevant .obsidian folder from my file explorer, the next time I open Obsidian, that vault is again open, and that deleted .obsidian folder is back in my file explorer. 'm sure I’m missing something obvious. I’m working in Linux if that’s relevant. Any help appreciated. I

Things I have tried

Searched help docs and the forum.

What I’m trying to do

Delete a vault.

Next time you open Obsidian use the Command Palette Ctrl/Cmd + P -> Open another Vault. You will see all your Vaults on the left side and you can remove them via the three dot menu.
If you want to delete a folder permanently, you would just delete it normally through your systems file explorer. Obsidian is just working on top of your file system.

3 Likes

Thank you. The problem was, each time I reopened Obsidian, it was opening the unwanted vault–even after I’d tried deleting the relevant .obsidian folder in my file manager–and when I’d try the three-dot menu via “Open another Vault” it would tell me “can’t remove a currently open vault.” So, after reading your answer, I reached behind the vault-creation pop-up window and shut the window where the unwanted vault was open. That did remove if from my list and Obdidian could then open without reopening that unwanted vault, but, as you say, I then had to go into my file manager to actually delete the vault.

I’m new and this will probably make more sense once I know more, but at first blush it seems that deleting a vault (i.e., including from my file system, not just removing it from my Obsidian list) could be more straightforward.