How to capture notes as a minimalist?

Hello.

I will start by saying that I have been using Obsidian for a few months. Yesterday, I had a mental breakdown, where I removed all of my notes and decided to start fresh. Something was wrong with my way of making notes. I felt like most of them are meaningless. I looked into available knowledge management methods, but to me they are too complicated. Do we have a method where we manage notes/knowledge in a minimalistic way? Do we have that kind of methodology? I want to collect a lot of notes, but if I keep everything in one folder (root), that will become clogged with bunch of random notes. Any ideas where to start?

I am a beginner. I started using the method suggested by Brian Jenks.
He uses the # to Indicate the status of the note. I have very few of those and I can see them in the left-hand column if I tap on the #Icon. So notes that are just ideas, something that is the beginning of draft, and finish short notes like zettlekasten I marked with a Limited number of #Categories. The rest of the notes are marked by
Links With double brackets around them. When you start writing A link, you get a list of related links. I hope that’s helping me not to have the Slightly different link names or even totally different names which would cause chaos. Also, I’m putting my link names into templates. I can cross them out later when I use the template, but it helps me to remember what my link names are for a particular kind of work. I’m just a beginner so I’m really worried that I’m heading into chaos. Do you have any idea what caused this chaotic situation that you’re in? I would really like to avoid that. Looking at what I’ve described someone who has more knowledge might be able to judge if I’m setting up things in an orderly way.

1 Like