How long are passwords remembered in Publish

What I’m trying to do

Know how long passwords are remembered for in publish. Possibly, force people to use password every time? I get the following message after entering the passworde… which is very vague on time. Will it remember for a month? for a year?
“Site unlocked
Thank you, the password is correct.
The password will be remembered during the following sessions for your convenience.”

Things I have tried

I know when it clear browsing data it asks me to re-enter the password, so I guess this is a cookie. But other than that, I don’t know much about this password feature and how it works

Just some insight into how this works would be appreciated. Thanks