How do you manage News and History related topics?

Most quality journalism requires a very long term view to link seemingly unrelated events (decisions and meetings from months or even years ago) and draw connections to other historically similar events. (One journalist exposed the privatization of Egyptian companies because it was similar to Russia)

I feel like Obsidian could be quite useful in this regard. What strategies / frameworks do you use for managing the news?

I tried making a note for each article, person and institute involved. But that got messy real quick and became hard to navigate

3 Likes

I am far from an expert here. Iā€™m trying to wrap my head around some of this as well. But MOCs might help you, this is a place to start:

1 Like

I love MOC, but they donā€™t translate too well with the news

Noting the event and how each source covers it is important and so is covering who is related to who. but MOC doesnā€™t help here

[[Event]]
discussion of event and related parties [[party1]] [[party2]] [[party3]] (this bit grows surprisingly quick)

[[MOC]]
events
people

(problem is that my current MOC model doesnā€™t translate well to the news)

1 Like

Iā€™m glad you asked this because it is something I have been thinking about, too. Specifically, I worry about a conflict between the emphasis on ā€œpermanentā€ notes and the need to collect notes on materials that may not lend themselves to permanence.

For example, I have been collecting resources related to COVID-19. I read an article today about some trends related to the pandemic and I took a few notes. I have a MOC, basically, on COVID-19 grouped into some different categories, but, the note looks really ā€œthinā€ compared to the other materials. That said, I think that in the future, these items might be all the more interesting in hindsight.

2 Likes

Hereā€™s something we can experiment with. Using Hashtags