How do you distinguish summary of source material from your thoughts on it?

One of my main uses of Obsidian is taking notes on videos, articles, etc. These notes usually consist mainly of summary, but here and there I interject my own thoughts – questions, examples from my life, etc. – and I still haven’t found a good way to keep these cleanly distinguished from each other. I’m interested in seeing other users’ approaches to this.

I’ve considered using full prose, so that plain old natural language makes the distinction (“Bradley says…”, “I think…”). The problem with this is that most of the media I take notes on are audio or audiovisual; I have to take abbreviated notes in order to keep up, and it seems like a lot of effort for little gain to rewrite it afterward into full prose.

1 Like

I’m just getting started, so this isn’t tried-and-tested, but I’m thinking to use a digital equivalent of the way I do it when I’m taking notes on paper: put my own observations in a text box.

Hi, @Malnormalulo!

I simply add my thoughts inside square brackets, and seem to work perfectly fine for me, no confusion [these is how it would look inside a literature/reference note]. I do these only as a reminder, since my deep though occurs in my “permanent” (“evergreen”, “personal”) notes, but it’s useful for not changing to much my kind of work or attention when making literature notes. I don’t bother erasing those thoughts later when I’ve used the literature note in my personal notes. Have you tried something like that?

2 Likes

@Dangax