How best to sync between Mac and Android

I’m just getting started with Obsidian and would like to sync across Mac, iPad and Android phone. I don’t mind paying for sync if I’m sticking with it, but don’t want to have to pay if I’m just trying it out.

I found a plugin but once I realised it needs lots of permissions, I’m not sure how to know if I can trust it - GitHub - stravo1/obsidian-gdrive-sync: sync notes across devices in Obsidian via Google Drive

How can I know if I can trust a plugin. And are there better options around?

I use Obsidian Sync and am very happy with it. Here are some other methods I’m aware of that have been around a while:

• Self-hosted LiveSync plugin

• Remotely Save plugin and various cloud services, including Amazon S3 or S3-compatible, Dropbox, OneDrive for personal, and Webdav

• Git with the Working Copy or the a-Shell iOS app

1 Like

Different ecosystems … hmmm… for the long run, I recommend git… Even alongside Obsidian sync for backup (GitHub) or to see what changes you have in a diff GUI (like GitHub Desktop’s) and can easily revert (discard). It’s useful when one is doing a lot of caretaking jobs having migrated from another program.

On Android, you’d use mGit or some terminal. Or maybe there’s a new app handling git now I’m not aware of.

I am reluctant to say I don’t recommend something (because then I need to write a memoir on the forum), but I really wouldn’t go down the road of wanting to handle either one of the iCloud, GDrive, OneDrive, DropBox quartett or their counterparts.

1 Like

Thanks for your speedy replies. Can I just clarify a few things, though? I’m not a developer so don’t know what these words mean:

-Self-hosted LiveSync plugin
-Git
-Working Copy
-a-Shell
-GUI
-mGit
-terminal

Thanks!

The first is a plugin – never used it.

The rest is git-related. Git is basically version control used by developers but great for individuals doing their markdown things.