Highlights App - Exporting images in MD

Hi All,

Please excuse me as I am a complete novice when it comes to MD files and Obsidian, but loving it thus far.

The issue I am having (hopefully demonstrated by the attached images showing the workflow I am trying to achieve) is that when exporting my notes from the app Highlights, the images do not embed in Obsidian. Given that the images are in md format (I think), I am confused as to why it won’t work. When I import my notes to Obsidian the text and tables come through fine, but the images ask me to “click to create”. When I do this it takes me to a new note, but there is no image there. When I preview the document there is still no image… urgh, help!

If anyone can explain where I am going wrong, I would be so grateful.

Also, if anyone can recommend another app for exporting images and tables I would be grateful.

Things I have tried

Exporting images contained within the Notes of Highlights. The Highlights app prides itself on being able to capture images and tables and then export them within your notes.

image|689x481
!

1 Like

The Highlights app on macOS exports images only in its .textbundle export format. The process to include images into a format that can be understood by Obsidian is not straight forward. It requires at least two steps. They can be automated using AppleScript. See this thread in the MPU forum.

JJW

1 Like

Thank you so much for your reply, that would explain why it won’t work then.

Thanks for sending through the link, it’s ummm… scary! I really am a complete novice with any sort of code etc. I’m just a civil engineer trying to build a second brain.

You can do the conversion manually.

• Export from Highlights as a textbundle instead of as markdown.
  • Open the exported textbundle folder. Change the name of the text.markdown file to whatever you want but use the extension .md instead of .markdown.