(Help) Seeking suggestions on Zettlekasten for Students

A hello from a fellow user,

I am using Obsidian for quite some time and I am struggling a bit with how I take notes. I thought of sharing my use case (yet again) and ask you guys how should I approach it.
So, I am a student having to study a lot of subjects. The problem is with how I take notes from my sources. I wanted to inculcate the habit of Zettlekasten (to be able to use the system even after the exams and continuing the learning process)

1. How should I take notes if I am reading from an already structured source?
  2. What should be the level of atomization for notes?
    • Should every point be a new note and linked to the main topic or sub-topic?
  3. Should I have different level of notes – as in, should I try to take rough notes at one place from, say a chapter, and then convert them into small pieces? Or should I just read the chapter and then go about making notes on a second cursory read from my highlights?

Please share how you take notes from a source that is already very structured for your exam or even for your learning goals.

1 Like

Well - lot’s to unpack there. First let me say that I am no longer studying for exams and when I did there were no digital note-taking tools. On the other hand I have a lifetime of “learning notes” behind me as I have used the technique of learning notebooks to learn material for the past 40 years and have lot’s of notebooks to prove it :wink:. Second let me add that you have to find what works for you - there is no one perfect way for everyone.

With all those caveats - I’d argue that the zettlekasten method may not be the best starting point for learning already structured materials - i.e. for a college course. The zettlekasten method was developed more as a technique to organically grow knowledge toward writing output. In the use case you describe I fear you may be adding a lot of friction to your learning by trying to force it into zk at this stage.