Header counter

Now that we have this fabulous outline feature, which will allow me transfer a substantial part of my notes to Obsidian, I would like to have the headers and subheaders numbered, like

1. header
    1.1. subheader
    1.1.1. subsubheader
  2. header
    etc.

For Typora someone once pointed me to the css as per the attachment here. It does not work in Obsidian. Can anyone tell me what to change in there?
Header-counter.css (7.7 KB)

7 Likes

I think its possible to get this working in Obsidian, but Obsidian’s interface has nothing in common with Typora, so complex CSS for one is astronomically unlikely to work for the other. A CSS developer would start over from scratch, rather than try to adapt this CSS.

Happily, I’m a CSS developer. I’ll take a crack at it tomorrow.

2 Likes

Hey Daniel, thanks a lot for your encouraging reply.

I would like to ask for your help to have a crack at a completely new code set for header numbering in both the content of a note and in the outline.

Hey @Klaas, Here is CSS which will get things working in the outline pane:

/* List styling for outline pane */

body > div > div.horizontal-main-container > div > div.workspace-split.mod-horizontal.mod-right-split > div.workspace-tabs > div.workspace-leaf > div > div.view-content > div.outline {
    counter-reset: h1;
}

body > div > div.horizontal-main-container > div > div.workspace-split.mod-horizontal.mod-right-split > div.workspace-tabs > div.workspace-leaf > div > div.view-content > div.outline > div > div.pane-clickable-item {
    counter-reset: h2;
}

body > div > div.horizontal-main-container > div > div.workspace-split.mod-horizontal.mod-right-split > div.workspace-tabs > div.workspace-leaf > div > div.view-content > div.outline > div > div.outline-heading-children > div > div.pane-clickable-item {
    counter-reset: h3;
}