Hashtags and notes

I am just beginning with ZettleKasten.

I am trying to figure out how a note can be divided into individual notes.
I tried the refraction plugin, but nothing seemed to happen.

I also read somewhere the — is code for the beginning of a page. So, a divider between notes that may be written on one note??

The problem is not only technical. I hope I am not totally confusing. Or confused.

Here is what I am understanding:
Space # no_space makes a tag
Space # Space is a first level header (H1).
Headers and what they contain, I think are not “atomic” notes.
Some people seem to be using Header 2 (H2) and Header (H3) for different levels of abstraction that could be placed at he beginning of a note. Usually, I think of H1 above H2. It is more abstract. In normal writing, I do not write H2 without an H1 above it. In the ZettleKasten context that seems to be unimportant. H1 might be described in a MOC and further defined in another linked note. So, a note could start with H3 with the hope that the full context will be defined later or perhaps it already exists. Is that correct?

When I am first writing about a topic, I feel more comfortable leaving ideas together providing context. At least as I am thinking about the idea the particular context is important. When a part of a longer piece of writing can be boiled down into a sentence that could be used in many setting, that is a kind of happening. It does not happen with everything I write.

Using # + space + text creates an H1 element (# Header). Using # with no space creates a tag (#tag). You don’t need a space before # to make these features work.

Obsidian’s syntax is mix of Common Mark and GitHub flavored markdown. For a basic overview of formatting in Obsidian, see this link: