Guide on writing/compiling articles (i.e. connecting ideas)

I recently reached around ~1850 note, with 500 being actual notes and the rest are tagnotes. I feel like this is enough to start producing written work, but for some reason with that amount of info stored I haven’t yet produced anything.

Perhaps anyone can recommend a guide of tutorial on how to use Obsidian to write articles? I think I’ve collected enough :smiley:

Not an answer to your question, but what’s a tagnote? I can guess, but I might guess wrong.

To answer your question: I start with the article idea and then use Obsidian to research the topic. I don’t use zettelkasten techniques–I don’t expect my notes to do the thinking for me. or to give me article ideas. I don’t know if that helps you. I suspect you may be thinking about a different kind of article than the kind I do. I write marketing articles for my employer’s website. I’m a former journalist. I’m starting to write articles for a personal blog, too, but again I start with the idea nd then get to work writing.

A tagnote is a note that acts as a tag, meaning that that I use it to reference in other actual notes. I just prefer to use “tagnotes” (notes) instead of actual tags (#tag), because they are simpler to link to (autocomplete) and easier to look up via dataview. For a nice intro check out this video - Obsidian Tagnotes - YouTube by @curtismchale

Yes, that does somewhat help. I haven’t been adding notes specific to my article idea. For now I just save my book notes, hoping to see some interesting connections. But you are completely right. I probably should be a little more intentional about my ouput.

1 Like

@rasulkireev

have you seen this:
“How to turn your notes into Published Articles….”

@EleanorKonik

Eleanor has many posts and videos, her process of writing fantasy novels as well. So if you just look her up in the forums you will find a lot of related resources related towards your endeavor.

Hope this helps!

2 Likes