Glossary for New Users

Greetings, All,

I’m brand new to Obsidian, PKM, and the whole Zettelkasten world. I’m excited by the concepts I’m reading about, but the learning is a bit slow going because the language is unfamiliar. Is there a glossary of terms (basic to advanced: IMF, Evergreen, IMC, )? I’ve searched for one in the forum and on Google and haven’t had any luck.

Thanks in advance!

I have not seen a glossary. It might be tough to develop a static one, as there’s new terms popping up all of the time (and I’d argue that the definitions of some existing ones have changed)!

It would be nice to see someone maintain a generic knowledge base about knowledge management tools, heh.

Anyway, searching this forum for each of the terms you’ve mentioned could probably give you the answers you’re looking for. (I realize this would be tedious.)

1 Like

I agree with Ryan. It’s growing and changing quickly.

Are there any specific ones you’d like some context around? I or others might be happy to answer a few.

• IMF was an old acronym for LYT = Linking Your Thinking, which were ideas that Nick Milo developed about how to organize and develop your topics of interest.

• Evergreen - depends on the context, but it basically means long-term. Resources or notes that you (or your readers) can refer back to over and over, over long periods of time.

• IMC - Yours is the only instance of that acronym that I can find on this forum. :slight_smile:

That said, until you have a significant body of notes, or specific research or workflow requirements, just have fun and take notes. I believe that it’s easier to start with a mess - a rough draft - a scattered pile of noise and debris - and then refine and sort from there.

Let me pull a quote from my messy, unorganized vault. I found this quote easily with Obsidian’s search: