Git backup/restore/overwrite help

Recover before backup that wiped files/updates

I have Obsidian on both my phone and PC and I use the git plugin to sync with gitlab as the origin/master. The phone is supposed to pull before pushing anything. The backups are set like that too, but I guess the phone failed to pull, but then I backed up and it overwrote the GitLab origin/master. It’s so close to being exactly what I need, but I’ve got to fix this, and figure out how to prevent that in the future.

Has anyone else had this issue? I’m also a git amateur, so could someone point me to a good link with a good explanation on how I can restore the last backup from the PC (commit). I want to be able to add and update via the phone, and I’ve been able to, but it is secondary to the computer which I’m on most days for longer periods.

Thank Everyone with Both Obsidian and the Git plugin, a truly awesome piece of software!

I don’t know if you can restore files with obsidian git plugin, but if you able to run git in terminal, you can do this:

cd <path to your obsidian folder>
git log

It will give you the list of all commits you’ve done, from latest to first, with their names and dates. Copy the name of the commit you think is still holding your data. Now you can rewrite you files back to this state with:

git checkout <commit name>

If you are not sure exactly what commit to choose, but you remember the name and path of the file you want to restore, you can write this:

git log -1 -- <file path>

It will give you the last commit in which your file was changed (or deleted), so you should choose the one before it.

Also if you don’t want to go back completely, but just restore the specific file, you can use:

git checkout <commit name> -- <file path>